Hardware Customization

After getting a lesson about hardware customization last week, I intended to make some changes in my computer hardware. I will share to you what I did to my laptop. First of all, here I show you my computer’s specification…

Hardware Spec

Hardware Spec

As you can see there that my computer is just an ordinary one with nothing special in it. There is no graphic card because I don’t really like playing games. But, I need to inform you that the OS I am using is Windows 8 so please adapt if your computer is using another OS version. Check this out!

1. Keyboard settings

Commands: Settings > Control panel > Keyboard

After the keyboard properties tab opens, I changed the “repeat delay” setting to its shortest level. This means if I type letters on keyboard, the delay will be as fast as an eye blink. A young and energetic person like me love something fast and speedy especially in typing educational reports, journals, or blogs. Here are the before-after pictures:

before_key

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

2. Mouse settings

Commands: Settings > Control panel > Mouse

Sometimes, I had a problem with location of my pointer. It is hidden somewhere in the edge of the window. Sick of this thing, I customized the mouse pointer options. I gave a check the “show location of pointer when I press the CTRL key” box. This will help you to locate your pointer because a circle will appear at your window to locate your pointer position.

BEFORE

BEFORE

after_mouse

AFTER


Instead of using touch pad, I also use a Logitech wireless mouse. When you buy a package of Logitech Wireless Mouse, you don’t get any driver installer. But in fact, you need to customize your mouse settings. There is a downloadable software named Logitech SetPoint™. In addition, I’m gonna explain this feature…

You can download the software here: http://www.logitech.com/en-au/mice-pointers/articles/11650

a. Button Settings

First window

First window

In this tab you can edit your mouse button task. They are left click, right click, and middle button. There is also a swap button command to swap the behavior between left and right button (useful for a left-handed one).

b. Pointer and Scrolling Settings

Second window

Second window

In this tab, you may change the pointer options such as pointer speed, acceleration, trails, and scrolling size. Actually you can find these settings in the control panel menu if you don’t use any extended mouse.

c. Game Settings

Third window

Third window

This is the most interesting part to explore for a game-addict 😀 lol.. If you enable the game detection, you are able to control the game mode settings. Since I’m not a gamer, I didn’t really mind with this part.

d. Mouse Batteries

Fourth window

Fourth window

To me this is the most useful information. This software can tell us our mouse’s battery level and warn us if the battery is getting low. Although it is not precisely accurate, this will help to monitor the mouse condition.

e. Unifying Software

Fifth window

Fifth window

The unifying software synchronizes your mouse wireless receiver. If you have another Logitech external hardware, you don’t need to plug in some receivers onto your computer. Simply plug one receiver and you can connect all Logitech hardware. Before that you should configure the settings in this unifying software.


I think that’s all of my post today. Hope it’s useful for you dear readers. Thanks and GBU…